RSS

Music That’s Hitting the Spot Right Now

14 Jan

Header-01

It’s rare that I find music that truly hits the spot with me, but I’ve done it!  Bwahahaha.

Something in my soul is yearning for the cold metal of a tailgate on the back of my thighs while a fire heats my shins.  I want to lock eyes with Mike while the smoke tangles in our hair and beer bottles sweat in our hands. I want the pinch of a sunburn on my shoulders and the pink in my cheeks, to trade snow boots for flip-flops and freedom. My hands miss the calluses of hard labor and I’m nostalgic for the pain my shoulders after 8 hours at the factory.  Late nights, early mornings, sunsets bleeding into sunrises and a day of barely being able to keep my eyes open.

While there are aspects of a blue collar life that are unbearable in the eyes of some, I can’t help but admire those people who have dedicated themselves to hard work and to see their lives through rose-colored glasses.

I think that’s why I like this music…  It has the power to make me feel this way, to ignite that burn in my muscles that’s so familiar, yet merely a ghost of a memory.  When I hear it, I can smell summer corn floating on the air and I can faintly taste the well water from jelly jars.

You’ll be doing yourself a favor to listen if you’ve ever felt like I have.  Here you go:

Turnpike Troubadours

American Aquarium

Ballroom Thieves

J. Charles and The Trainrobbers

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 14, 2014 in Daily Happenings

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
