RSS

Rutabaker

12 Jun

Header-01

Hi everyone!

Mike (husband) pointed out that the majority of my most recent posts are kind of angry…and biatchy…and so on and so on. 🙂  So I thought I’d post about something fun and nice and wonderful–Rutabaker.

What the hell is a Rutabaker, you ask? “Rutabaker” is the nickname that we’ve given to our little nugget.  I think Mike started calling it Rutabaga and then my mother cleverly added our last name to it and it became Rutabaker.

So here are some things about Rutabaker:

We are 18 weeks and 6 days along. We’ll be halfway there on June 20th! Kinda crazy.

We had an ultrasound on Monday and everything is on par!  Rutabaker weighs about 8 ounces and is roughly the size of a mango.

Rutabaker DOES have a gender, but we aren’t finding out what it is. I did clear it with the ultrasound tech, though, and she said that it’s definitely one or the other. 🙂  We chose not to find out because we believe that adulthood doesn’t hold very many “good” surprises. It’s usually a bad surprise–like, “You owe us $1093!” or “That mole looks suspicious…let’s get that checked out.”  I think it’ll be exciting as hell to be in the delivery room and to hear someone yell, “It’s a boy!” or “It’s a girl!”

Rutabaker also has a name, whether it’s a boy or a girl. The names have been picked out for over two years and I would post them here, but I feel like that would just provoke people to steal them and then I’d get really angry that these names got popular right before I used them. They are our names, and no, you cannot have them. You will learn the name on November 8.

OH! November 8 is Rutabaker’s due date.

And here are my views on pregnancy stuff:

So far, most of my pants still fit. I haven’t “popped” as they say, but I do feel like a cow standing on two feet. 🙂 I’m waiting for that belly to blow out so I can look and feel pregnant.

I haven’t felt sick since the third month ended. I feel pretty amazing.

I might have felt a baby flutter once or twice, but who knows? That’s so hard to determine.

I have not posted any baby bump pictures on social media (and I do not intend to). If you’d like to see me pregnant, please make a live, in-person appointment. 😛  I actually haven’t taken any baby bump pictures at all. 1) Because I don’t have much of a bump. 2) Because I honestly don’t see the point. I get it, you want to look back and see those bump pictures and think, “Man! I was huge!” or “Aw, I was pregnant with _______ in this picture.” I feel like there will be enough candid shots of me that I don’t need to schedule week by week bump pictures.  PLEASE NOTE:  This does not mean that I think poorly of any of you that have done/are doing bump pictures! Yay for you! Yay for excitement! Yay for cute chalkboard drawings and notes and just YAY! Bump pictures just aren’t for me. 🙂

Finally, I have a little something to say about complaining while you’re pregnant. I know that pregnancy can be uncomfortable and that you can’t drink or you can’t always eat the foods that you want. I get that. And I get that sometimes pregnant chicks feel like trucks walking down hallways.  I will just say this–if you wanted this baby, then think twice before you complain. It’s a freaking blessing. There are tons of people out there wishing and trying and hoping. Don’t put them down by complaining about the miracle inside you.  Additionally, it’s only 9 months out of your life. Not even a year. If you live to be 75 years old, that’s 900 months and each pregnancy is a mere 1% of that. I think you’ll be okay.  1% of your life being slightly uncomfortable is totally worth that baby.

________________

Okay, while my post was not 100% bitch free, it was better than the last few. 🙂

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 12, 2014 in Raising My Youngins

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
