RSS

My Music Conundrum

10 Feb

I watch sitcoms and see people dancing around the kitchen to music while they cook.  I had a roommate that used to listen to music while she cleaned.  My boyfriend listens to music when he washes his/my car.  I have friends who are obsessed with music.

But me?  Music does not move me.  And that scares the crap out of me.

It used to.  It really did.  I’m not saying I had the best taste in music, but there was a time that I could throw in my Hanson CDs and be happy listening for hours.  The same goes for the Backstreet Boys, and even N’Sync, but I have to blame this on being a teeny bopper.  It wasn’t the music I loved…but rather the boys who sang it.

Throughout high school and early into college, I blared Bon Jovi wherever I went.  I still like the music, and I still like the band, but when I get in the car to drive those long two hours to Mike, I never want to listen to Bon Jovi.

Between college and now, it’s just been country music that I listen to casually.  There have only been a few songs that make me think back to certain times or situations.

Maybe that’s my problem?  I no longer link music to moments…

I remember listening to “I’m Like a Bird” by Nelly Furtado every day on my way to tan before senior prom.  Because of that, it is forever sunny when that song plays.

And when I hear “Wanted Dead or Alive” by Bon Jovi, I think of driving over the bridge in Fremont with my car packed with my guy friends all singing at the top of their lungs with me.

If Garth Brooks starts singing “Shameless” or Reba McIntyre comes on with “Fancy”, I think of my Jenny…and that fleet of firefighters we seduced with flasks at the Goat and Compass.

But there is not an album or a genre that I can put on, sit back, and enjoy.  I wish it weren’t so.  Lately I’ve been listening to folk, and really enjoying the folk from overseas…but I do not long for it in the car.

I want music that hits home with me and I can’t find it.  If you can help me out of my musical conundrum (Fowler, Harden, the Blairs, etc.), please do.  I am stuck, and a world without music truly sucks.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 10, 2012 in Daily Happenings

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “My Music Conundrum

  1. Greg Barnes

    February 10, 2012 at 1:49 pm

    I’ve been listening to the new Van Halen for three straight days… GET IT ON AMAZON!

     
  2. Jerry Pope

    February 10, 2012 at 2:40 pm

    You are so honest. I love that. Maybe casual listening isn’t for you. Try instrumental jazz and/or classical. Singers and song writers tell you what to think and feel. There’s not much personal involvement there. Sit down and listen to Mozart, Bartok, Coltrane, or Miles Davis. Follow the feeling that comes from the movement of what’s being played. Don’t do anything else but sit there and listen. Empty your mind and let the music wash over you.

     

Leave a comment